Six Minutes and Twenty-Seven Seconds

For  6 minutes and 27 seconds my heart was racing, my muscles aching, my breathing was fast and deep.  

For 6 minutes and 27 seconds my legs propelled my body forward, my feet kept my balance and my arms kept the rhythm of the movement.

For 6 minutes and 27 seconds I didn’t think about all the tasks that wait for me at work today, the decisions that will change my life forever or the paths that have led me to this point.

For 6 minutes and 27 seconds my body was stressed, but my mind wasn’t.    My muscles were tired but my thoughts were free and focused on the task at hand.

For 6 minutes and 27 seconds I let go of all the worries and thoughts that put knots in my stomach and a pain in my chest.

I ran a mile as fast as I could and it took me 6 minutes and 27 seconds. 

Maybe I’ve run faster, for sure I’ve run longer, but for those 6 minutes and 27 seconds, I didn’t care about anything else.    It required too much effort to be distracted.

Only 1433 minutes and 33 seconds left to deal with today.

Leave a Reply

